New World Order
Suzanne Kirk left no doubt about her presidential style during last week’s regime change, ushering in a Canadian-style governance that focused on punctual efficiency, socialist populism with an emphasis on committee rule, and Yukon-style beards.
She introduced a new global grants initiative that will partner with worthy projects in either Ghana or Brazil, though sources indicate it’s in reality the beginning of a vast pipeline to funnel Club funds to Saskatchewan.

“Metro Savannah Rotary has accomplished so much in our first few years; it’s hard to imagine we were just chartered in 2012,” Kirk said. “Our founding members and past Presidents have established a vibrant club for today’s Rotarian. I’m honored to follow in their footsteps and help our club continue to demonstrate our commitment of service above self both here in Savannah and in the global communities we support.”
Outgoing President Robert McCorkle presented Kirk with the traditional framed portrait of Harris the Cat, which will proudly hang in Kirk’s home or business for the year. Kirk gave McCorkle some booze.
During McCorkle’s past year as president, membership grew by 5 percent, Metro became an Every Rotarian Every Year (EREY) Club, inducted four new members into the Paul Harris Society, and received the Gold Award from the District Governor. Members volunteered more than 400 hours during a dozen service projects across the community, and the Club raised nearly $10,000 for service partner Savannah Bicycle Campaign. 
“It has been a thrill to play a small role in the continued growth of the Metropolitan Savannah Rotary Club,” McCorkle said. “This Club continues to be a testament to what a group of individuals can do when they join together to put ‘Service Above Self’ and make concentrated efforts to transform the lives of others.  I am proud to call myself a Rotarian.”
Joining Kirk and McCorkle on the 2015-2016 Board of Directors are: Patton Dugas,  Brad Whitfield, Amelia Harper, Bea Saba Jeanine Roach, Jessica Pedigo, Jordan Chase, Michael McLeod, Bret Bell, Leigh Acevedo, Jeff Brady,  Jessica Thomas, Julie Wade, Liza Smith, Josh Brooks and David Acuff.